How to Read Supplement Facts: Serving Size, Units & Blends

By BASIC GREENS · Updated October 4, 2026 · Product label comparison

A Supplement Facts panel helps you identify what a labeled serving contains. Start with serving size, then read the nutrient or blend amounts and the ingredient list.

Quick answer: read the serving size before any large number on the front of the bottle. Amount per serving, bottle volume, servings per container, and a combined blend total answer different questions.

1. Start with serving size

Serving size tells you the quantity used for the panel's listed amounts. For example, BASIC GREENS B12 lists 1 mL; Vitamin C lists 2 mL; Hair, Skin & Nails lists two capsules. Do not assume every liquid uses one dropper or every capsule formula uses one capsule.

2. Check the units

Unit Meaning Comparison tip
mg Milligrams 1 mg = 1,000 mcg
mcg Micrograms Keep the same unit when comparing labels
IU International Units Conversion depends on the specific substance; D3 50 mcg is shown as 2,000 IU on this product label
mL Milliliters of liquid This is serving volume, not the nutrient amount
mcg DFE Dietary folate equivalents Read the folate expression as labeled; do not treat DFE as the same measurement as every other folate expression
mg NE Niacin equivalents Keep the label expression when comparing niacin

3. Read Daily Value in context

% Daily Value uses a general reference amount. It is not an individualized dose recommendation. A missing Daily Value does not mean an ingredient amount is zero; read the panel's footnote and listed amount.

4. Separate individual amounts from blend totals

A combined blend amount does not disclose the amount of every ingredient in that blend. The BASIC GREENS L-Arginine capsule label gives 3,000 mg for its combined blend. Hair, Skin & Nails gives 1,100 mg for its bovine collagen and botanical blend. Neither number is the separately disclosed amount of L-Arginine or collagen alone.

5. Read the other ingredients

Other ingredients can include a capsule shell, liquid base, flavor, or preservatives. For dietary preferences, check the full list: a vegetable capsule shell does not make a formula containing bovine collagen vegan.

6. Compare the panel with the pack size

The Vitamin C bottle contains 30 labeled 2 mL servings, each providing 200 mg vitamin C. The 6,000 mg bottle total is calculated across those servings. A two-pack doubles the supply but does not change the formula's per-serving amount.

Questions about Supplement Facts

Should I use a website summary instead of my bottle label?

Use the current bottle label for directions, warnings, and serving measurement. If a product page and your bottle differ, send a label photo to BASIC GREENS support before relying on a comparison.

Can I calculate every ingredient in a proprietary blend?

No. A blend total is insufficient to calculate separate ingredient amounts when the panel does not disclose them.

Practice with the actual labels

General label reference: NIH: Dietary Supplements — What You Need to Know.

Educational product information. Read the current label for directions and warnings. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent disease.